The Great Magazine Caper!

20140528-152645-55605340.jpg

How many of us have been scammed? It’s more than a handful. It gets to the point you can’t even stand answering phone calls or talking to people anymore.

Three years ago my mother answered a phone call. For some reason unbeknownst to me she gave out her debit card number. I find out three weeks later the whole scenario. There was a few calls before the incident in which they tried to claim she would win vacation tickets. When calls like this come in, I claim to be here and tell them nope sorry and hang up. The day in question I was at work.

A magazine company, third party extended her subscriptions to regular magazines. Good Housekeeping, Woman’s Day and Family Circle. They extended each until 2017. Literally six years worth. Then calls from the creditors come in. Wanting payment. They claimed my mom owed over twelve hundred dollars to them. When they call they ask how the magazines are. They know very well we received none. I told mom to name a magazine randomly we would have, haha like Playboy. Sometimes they rush off quickly when we say we never received anything.

I’ve had these people become nasty and one day I was so fed up I pulled the phone from her. This man screamed and told me to get off the phone. I said oh really you’re trying to scam an elderly woman out of her money?! I know everyone needs to make a living but honestly who can sleep at night being a scam artist. It’s sickening.

Some days I want to act like my mother and tell them, hey could I give you my daughters credit card and would they take the bait. I’ve told my young girls to pick up and say have you found my daddy yet.. Lol hey you have to find humor in it. I’ve blocked several numbers and I’ve contacted the Better Business Bureau in most of the cases they stop contacting me. Give it a few months a new so called collection agency takes over. I’m not afraid of these people. Are you going to tell me that threatening my mom with putting this on her credit report is a big thing? My moms credit is shot to shit. She has bad credit and she’s in her early sixties she isn’t so worried you know?

My concern is for millions out there getting scammed and harassed. It’s insane. I’m tired of the bullshit. It’s just not right.

So to whomever is reading, never ever let people like this get to you. Do what you can. File cease and desist letters. Do not give these people a dime. If you have elderly parents make sure that they don’t get scammed. If someone calls you make sure if they want your card number, I pay mine via check mail me the bill.

Kindly shove your magazines where the sun doesn’t shine!

Leave a Reply

