Humble Pie

She smiled.. As she stared down the hall.. The smile so broad that the corner of her eyes smiled too..

I’m content she thought. Emotions just wash over you. All that pent up emotion now just was a distant memory. The memories though still there bottled away. Thrown away into the sea to never be opened again. Maybe one day they will resurface but for now, swept in the tide.

Never forget yourself she whispered. She was never selfish only to herself. She gave the world but the world never gave back. She didn’t need it but she wanted it. The slice of humble pie. At least when I lay my head down at night I know my heart was sincere and true. All intentions real and true. I never let anyone down but myself..

At least I’m happy she thought.. For all I have and had.. I never was untrue or changed for anyone. I never broke my own heart. I stayed humble.

Leave a Reply

